Coffee Bundt Cake

Coffee Bundt Cake 2

One of the easier cakes that I have baked.  This is the first time I tired baking with solely coffee.  I was a little reluctant, as I have tried recipes with coffee with a combination of other things…..ie. espresso chocolate cake, espresso raspberry….etc….but this is definately my first.  I figured, if this didn’t taste right, there was really no other taste to hide behind.  Overall, I thought it was okay, but if I would to make it again, I would probably use a stronger coffee (I used Nescafe Rich).  I would have put more, but I was also afraid it would come out too bitter.  The coffee is the last to go into the batter, so if you give it a quick taste, it’s just as easy to add more in according to your preference.  Keep in mind, it’s easy to add, if it’s not enough, but if you put too much, you can’t really take it out.

Ingredients:
3 cups cake flour
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
4 large eggs, room temperature
1 1/2 cups brown sugar
1 cup butter
1 cup yogurt
4 tsp instant coffee, dissolved in 1 Tbsp. hot water
Icing sugar, optional

Preheat the oven to 350°F.  Prepare a 10-inch bundt pan with baking spray, and set aside.

In a small bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk the eggs.  Add the sugar, and beat until combined.  Add the melted butter, yogurt, and coffee, and whisk until combined.

Fold in the dry ingredients.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan, and bake for 40 – 45 minutes or until cake tester inserted into the centre comes out clean with moist crumbs. Let cool in the pan for 10 minutes before inverting the cake onto a serving plate.

Sprinkle a dusting a icing sugar.  Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a comment