Blissful Lemon Bundt Cake

This is my first project with my brand new oven.  I was quite excited to have a new toy in my kitchen, and my new toy is a true convection too.  So I decided to find something easy to start off, so I can have a feel of how my oven truly feels.

The outcome of this cake, came out a tad dense.  However, I don’t think it’s because it’s my oven, I think it’s because I mixed it to long after I added the flour mixture.  So, just a friendly reminder, stop mixing after the flour have just incorporated with the mixture.
blissful-lemon-bundt-cake

Ingredients:
1 cup butter
2 cups sugar
4 large eggs
2 tsp baking powder
3 cups cake flour
1 cup milk
Zest of 2-3 lemons

Preheat the oven to 350°F.  

Spray large bundt pan (12 cups) with non-stick spray.

In a large bowl, beat the butter until it is light in color.  Add in the sugar until combined.

Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Scrape the sides and bottom of the bowl once all the eggs have been added, and beat until well combined.

In a medium bowl, sift together the flour and baking powder.

Add the flour mixture to the batter in three parts alternately with the milk (flour mixture/milk/flour mixture/milk/flour mixture). Mix until everything is well combined; the batter will look a bit rough, but shouldn’t have any large lumps.

Stir in the grated lemon rind.

Pour entire mixture into the prepared bundt pan.  Bake the cake for 45 to 60 minutes, or until a cake tester or toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. A pan with a dark interior will bake cake more quickly; start checking at 40 minutes.

Allow the cake to cool completely before removing from pan.

Leave a Reply

