New York Cheesecake

New York Cheesecake is probably the most common cheesecake made and consumed in Vancouver. It has always been too dense and too rich of a cake for my liking and I always thought that it was over rated.

As I try a google search, I have found lots of New York Cheesecakes recipes out there.  Most recipes consists of 3-6 packages of cream cheese, which makes me fat, just thinking about all that cream cheese in my tummy.

When I went to New York, I HAD to try Eileen’s Cheesecakes, as it seems to be one of the places that set the standard for cheesecakes.  And yes, it was different.  It was light and fluffy, but I can also taste the a great deal of cream cheese in the cake.

 

In my first pastry baking class, we made our New York Cheesecake from scratch.  I baked my own graham crackers and crushed it to make my own graham cracker crumbs for the crust.  I found that baking the crust was difficult because I needed to dry it in the oven, but at the same time, I don’t want to burn it.  We didn’t use a few bricks of cream cheese either.  I believe for a New York Cheesecake, the right crust texture is important and the right amount of cream cheese and sour cream is also very important.

Cheesecake

Marble New York Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

